Brett Garsed Discussion Forum Index

Brett Garsed Discussion
The Official Brett Garsed Discussion Forum

www.BrettGarsed.com

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Creating nice licks

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Brett Garsed Discussion Forum Index -> Techniques, Theory, and Musical Education
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Wiebren

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 3:15 pm    Post subject: Creating nice licks Reply with quote

Hello there,

I have trouble creating original sounding licks, I know the theory behind it, arpeggio’s, scales, etc. But I have trouble putting it together. It all sounds al little bit static. You know it is all too diatonic. I'm studying a lot but it seems that I’m in a rut concerning this topic. What do you think is the next step to being original and creating a more fusion type of lines. What do you recommend maybe it’s a good idea to play tabs from a guitar player you like or training your aural skills more, or should I take a mathematical approach?

I'd love to hear other any one's thoughts about it.

Good weekend,

Wiebren

PS. Sorry for the crappy English, and thank god for spell checking Very Happy
JJW

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2005 11:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi mate

I would say just play alot and when you come up with something that sounds cool write it down before you forget it.Use your ears and play over backings experimenting with your note selection be it diatonic or substituted.Always come back to writing out those new licks/lines and work them into your practise routine so there added to your improv vocab easily.

As long as you know a lil theory you should be able to play the scales and target notes you want too

have fun-and btw your english is fine Smile

EDIT
also buy Bretts DVD as he realy explains in detail about about playing
Wiebren